92 Year Old WW2 Vet and Armed Wife Chase Off Armed Robber – “I Was Gonna Work Him Over Real Good”

Springfield Township, OH – I can only hope I’m this much of a badass when I’m in my 90′s (if I make it to my 90′s).

Robert Kelly Jr., age 25 told Ruby and Hugh Mathis, an elderly couple in their 90′s that he had been accepted at a college and needed to use their phone. The couple knew Kelly from odd jobs he did around the neighborhood.

Once inside Kelly’s true motives were revealed and he pulled a knife on Hugh Mathis and demanded money. Mathis had a response for him alright. According to WLWT,

“He stuck the knife out there and said ‘Give me your money,’ and I said ‘You go to hell!’” Hugh Mathis said.

That’s when Ruby Mathis emerged from the bedroom wielding a gun and Kelly took off running. Based on Hugh’s next comments, it sounds like he made the right decision,

“He ran out the door. I was getting up to get a club and then I was going to work him over real good,” Hugh Mathis said.

Kelly was arrested a short time after the incident and is being held on a $1.5 million bond for three counts of aggravated robbery.

This incident is the most common type of defensive gun use. That is, one in which no shots were fired and no one was hurt. Despite this being the most common type of defensive gun use, these incidents are often not included in statistics about defensive gun uses. Many of these statistics and studies focus solely on justifiable homicides.

2 thoughts on “92 Year Old WW2 Vet and Armed Wife Chase Off Armed Robber – “I Was Gonna Work Him Over Real Good”

Leave a Reply

